CLA President and Secretary-General join Local Organising Committee to plan CLC2013

August 1st, 2012

By Barbara Whittle

Nigerian lawyer Boma Ozobia, President of the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA), and Claire Martin, CLA Secretary-General, joined the Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the Commonwealth Law Conference to be held in Cape Town from 14 to 18 April 2013 at a site inspection and meeting in Cape Town in June 2012.

The Law Society of South Africa (LSSA) won the bid to host the 18th Commonwealth Law Conference (CLC2013) in South Africa for the first time in the 60-year history of Commonwealth law conferences. The CLC2013, with the theme ‘Common challenges – common solutions: Commonwealth, commerce and ubuntu’, will be held at the Cape Town International Convention Centre and will feature 48 sessions divided into four main broad topic themes covering –

  • current trends in corporate and commercial law;
  • the legal and judicial professions;
  • human rights law; and
  • other contemporary legal topics.

Each day will feature a plenary session by a prominent keynote speaker.

The conference will present an ideal opportunity for lawyers from throughout the Commonwealth to share their ideas and experiences. It will also provide sponsorship and exhibition opportunities for law firms, corporates and service providers to the legal profession.

The LOC, which is chaired by Johannesburg attorney and CLA Past President Mohamed Husain, includes attorneys Nolita Kose, Ashraf Mahomed, Graham Bellairs and Max Boqwana, as well as LSSA chief executive officer Nic Swart, who is the vice-chairperson, and Tony Pillay and Barbara Whittle from the LSSA.

The Papers Committee – a subcommittee of the LOC – is drafting the comprehensive conference programme in cooperation with the LOC and CLA executive. This committee is chaired by Professor Bonita Meyersfeld from the Centre for Applied Legal Studies at the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits), and includes former Constitutional Court Justice Kate O’Regan, Professor Nqosa Mahao from Wits, Professor David McQuoid-Mason from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, attorneys Busani Mabunda and Max Boqwana, advocate Gilbert Marcus and Papers Committee secretary Ros Elphick from the LSSA.

For registration and programme information, as well as sponsorship and exhibition opportunities, visit the CLC2013 website at

Compiled by Barbara Whittle, communication manager, Law Society of South Africa,

This article was first published in De Rebus in 2012 (Aug) DR 15.