Erratum – Omission in names of LSSA former Council members

February 1st, 2017

The names of some of the former Law Society of South Africa (LSSA) Council members, who have since retired from Council, were omitted from the list of names published in 2016 (Dec) DR 19. They are:

Judge Willie Seriti and Esmé du Plessis, the first Co-chairpersons of the LSSA when it was established in 1998; Emil Boshoff and Nano Matlala, LSSA Co-chairpersons in 2000 and 2011 respectively, as well as Deputy Judge President Phineas Mojapelo, Ismail Ayob, Danie Olivier and Johan Fourie who all served on the first LSSA council in 1998.

Their contribution to the profession is recognised and acknowledged, and the omission is deeply regretted.

This article was first published in De Rebus in 2017 (Jan/Feb) DR 9.

De Rebus