Magistrate appointments will increase capacity at courts

August 21st, 2020

By Kgomotso Ramotsho

The Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, Ronald Lamola, has appointed 29 regional magistrates for various regional divisions with effect from 1 September. The statement released by the Justice Ministry noted that the appointments of magistrates by Mr Lamola is in respect of the lower courts after consultation with the Magistrates Commission. The statement further stated that the appointments will further enhance diversity in magistrates’ courts in terms of both race and gender, with 58% of the appointments being women (17 women and 12 men) and 75% African.

The appointments were made at the following courts:

Eastern Cape
  • Mdantsane;
  • Mthatha; and
  • Port Elizabeth (four appointments).
Free State
  • Bloemfontein;
  • Heilbron; and
  • Kroonstad.
  • Soweto.
  • Durban (two appointments);
  • Pietermaritzburg;
  • Port Shepstone;
  • Umzimkulu;
  • Verulam; and
  • Vryheid.
  • Thohoyandou.
  • eMkhondo; and
  • Mhala.
Northern Cape
  • Kimberley.
North West
  • Bloemhof;
  • Brits;
  • Moretele;
  • Rustenburg;
  • Taung; and
  • Tlhabane.
Western Cape
  • Oudtshoorn; and
  • Worcester.

The statement added that the appointments are an important step in capacitating judicial officers and courts so as to enable the courts to deliver justice to all. ‘Our magistrate’s courts are where most people encounter the justice system for the first time, and thus for many the magistrate’s courts embody the justice system. If the magistrate’s courts work well, it builds trust and confidence in the justice system. At a time when we are facing challenges in our courts due to the realities of COVID-19, the appointment of these regional magistrates will increase capacity and help to optimise service delivery in our courts,’ Minister Lamola said.

Kgomotso Ramotsho Cert Journ (Boston) Cert Photography (Vega) is the news reporter at De Rebus.

De Rebus