Minister Masutha confident in new Sheriffs Board

April 1st, 2018

By Kgomotso Ramotsho

The Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, Michael Masutha, has appointed new members to the South African Board for Sheriffs. According to the statement released by the Department of Justice and Development, the term of office of the new Board commenced on 1 March and will be for a period of three years. The Justice Department added that Mr Masutha extends his appreciation to the outgoing members of the Board, whose term expired on 28 February, for their contribution to the Sheriffs’ profession, the justice sector and for obtaining clean audits during their term of office.

The Justice Department said that Mr Masutha is confident that the new Board will continue to promote a professional Sheriffs profession that is both accountable and committed to serving the public and the legal profession. The appointed Board members are:

  • Ignatius Klynsmith – Sheriffs profession.
  • Mmatholo Lephadi – Sheriffs profession.
  • Allan Murugan – Sheriffs profession.
  • Annah Ralehlaka – Sheriffs profession.
  • Andrew Nkhumise – Sheriffs profession.
  • Hisamodien Mohamed – Department of Justice and Constitutional Development.
  • Phaswane Mogale – Law Society of South Africa.
  • Lesiba Mashapa – The National Credit Regulator.
  • Meko Magida – designated by the Minister.
  • Khunjulwa Sigenu – designated by the Minister.
  • Charmaine Mabuza – designated by the Minister.

Kgomotso Ramotsho Cert Journ (Boston) Cert Photography (Vega) is the news reporter at De Rebus.

This article was first published in De Rebus in 2018 (April) DR 9.