Newly elected National Legal Practice Council begins tenure on 1 November 2021

December 1st, 2021

By Kabelo Letebele

The Legal Practice Council (LPC), a statutory body responsible for regulating the affairs of the legal profession, has announced its new 23-member Council to take office for a term of three years, commencing from 1 November 2021.

This is the second Council that is being appointed to regulate the South African legal profession since the LPC was established in November 2018. ‘The appointments followed a rigorous nomination and voting process as stipulated in the Regulations and appointments of additional members designated as per the provisions of s 7 of the Legal Practice Act 28 of 2014. The Council consists of: Sixteen members elected by practising legal practitioners, three members are designated by the Minister of Justice and Correctional Services, Ronald Lamola, and one member each from Legal Aid South Africa (Legal Aid SA), the Legal Practitioners’ Fidelity Fund (LPFF) and Deans of Law and Teachers of Law,’ explained Charity Nzuza (Executive Officer of the LPC).

‘The newly appointed Council will guide LPC National and provincial structures to deliver on its mandate to protect the interests of the public, set norms and standards for the legal profession, facilitate the admission and enrolment of legal practitioners, as well as regulating the professional and ethical conduct of all legal practitioners and candidate legal practitioners,’ Ms Nzuza added.

The newly appointed Council members are:

  • Janine Myburgh – Chairperson (attorney);
  • Kennedy Tsatsawane, SC – Deputy Chairperson (advocate);
  • Kathleen Matolo-Dlepu – Executive Committee member (attorney);
  • Miles Carter – Executive Committee member (attorney);
  • Priyesh Daya – Executive Committee member (attorney);
  • Brenton Joseph, SC – Executive Committee member (advocate);
  • Pritzman Busani Mabunda – Executive Committee member (attorney and LPFF designate);
  • Anthea Platt SC – Minister’s designate (advocate);
  • Thulani Kgomo – Minister’s designate (attorney);
  • Reghana Tulk – Minister’s designate (advocate);
  • Prof Danwood Chirwa – Deans of Law designate;
  • Clement Marumoagae – Teachers of Law designate (attorney);
  • Dick Khubana – (Legal Aid SA designate);
  • Noxolo Maduba-Silevu (attorney);
  • Nolitha Jali (attorney);
  • Lucian Edwin Companie (attorney);
  • Dr Llewelyn Gray Curlewis (attorney);
  • Paula De Azevedo (attorney);
  • Seopi Makhafola (attorney);
  • Elizabeth Baloyi-Mere, SC (advocate);
  • Kameshni Pillay, SC (advocate);
  • Margaretha Engelbrecht, SC (advocate); and
  • Craig Watt-Pringle, SC (advocate).

‘We thank the outgoing Council and commend them for the sterling work done over the last three years. They have set the LPC on the right footing and the organisation will continue to grow from strength to strength. We also extend a warm welcome to our new Council and wish them well in their three-year tenure,’ Ms Nzuza concluded.

About the Legal Practice Council

The LPC is a national, statutory body established in terms of s 4 of the LPA. The LPC and its Provincial Councils regulate the affairs of and exercise jurisdiction over all legal practitioners (attorneys and advocates) and candidate legal practitioners.

Kabelo Letebele is the Senior Manager: Communication and Engagements at the Legal Practice Council in Midrand.

This article was first published in De Rebus in 2021 (Dec) DR 7.

South African COVID-19 Coronavirus. Access the latest information on: