President Cyril Ramaphosa appoints Constitutional Court judges

October 2nd, 2019

By Kgomotso Ramotsho

The Presidency has released a statement that President Cyril Ramaphosa has in terms of s 174(4) of the Constitution appointed Judge Zukisa Laura Lumka Tshiqi and Judge Stevan Arnold Majiedt as judges of the Constitutional Court (CC) with effect from 1 October 2019.

According to the press release, President Ramaphosa made these appointments after consulting with Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng and the leaders of the parties represented in the National Assembly. In terms of s 174(4) of the Constitution, the President, as head of the national executive, appoints judges of the CC following consultation with the Chief Justice and leaders of political parties represented in the National Assembly.

The press release stated that President Ramaphosa appointed Judges Tshiqi and Majiedt from a list of five nominees prepared by the Judicial Services Commission (JSC). The JSC conducted interviews in April 2019 following the retirement of former Deputy Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke and Justice Bess Nkabinde.
President Ramaphosa has expressed his confidence that Justices Tshiqi and Majiedt will further enrich jurisprudence at the apex court, which has served the nation with distinction throughout the democratic dispensation.

Kgomotso Ramotsho Cert Journ (Boston) Cert Photography (Vega) is the news reporter at De Rebus.