Three female judges appointed to the SCA

July 4th, 2019

By Kgomotso Ramotsho

On 21 June President Cyril Ramaphosa announced the appointment of five judges to the Supreme Court of Appeal (SCA), three of which are female.
The appointments came after recommendations were made by the Judicial Service Commission and are in line with prescripts of the Constitution.
In terms of the s 174(6) of the Constitution the following judges have been appointed:

  • Justice Daniel Vuminkosi Dlodlo;
  • Justice Caroline Elizabeth Heaton Nicholls;
  • Justice Fikile Eunice Mokgohloa;
  • Justice Yvonne Thokozile Mbatha; and
  • Justice Clive Michael Plasket.

The statement from the Office of the Presidency further stated that in terms of s 174(3) of the Constitution, President Ramaphosa appointed Justice Xola Mlungisi Petse as Deputy Judge President of the SCA.
‘These appointments – of which three are women – reflect government’s commitment to the ongoing transformation of the Bench,’ President Ramaphosa said. President Ramaphosa wished the justices well in their new positions.

Kgomotso Ramotsho Cert Journ (Boston) Cert Photography (Vega) is the news reporter at De Rebus.