WOZA calling for 2020 award nominations submissions

February 6th, 2020

By Kgomotso Ramotsho

The Women in Law Awards (WOZA) released a statement stating that the nomination process for the 2020 WOZA is open. The WOZA are the first awards programme recognising the accomplishments of women in law on the African continent and internationally. Women from South Africa (SA) and the African continent are invited to participate in the prestigious awards. WOZA invites the following groups to nominate candidates –

  • women lawyers in law firms;
  • law firms;
  • the private sector – employing women lawyers or women lawyer directors of a business;
  • the non-governmental organisation sectors;
  • academia;
  • government and state-owned enterprises; and
  • final year students and candidate legal practitioners.

Categories for the awards are as follows –

  • The African Law Firm of the Year

An international law firm with a foothold in Africa, that has made significant strides in their development of women in law, whether it is in women staff development and/or corporate social responsibility in women led businesses and/or training and development programmes.

  • Law Firms

Six WOZAs are presented to law firms in recognition of its leadership in fostering an inclusive environment for women lawyers.

  • Africa
    • A woman only law firm of the year (established for less than five years);
    • a law firm that has five women lawyers or less; and
    • a law firm that has six women lawyers or more.
  • South Africa
    • A woman only law firm of the year (established for less than five years);
    • a law firm that has five women lawyers or less; and
    • a law firm that has six women lawyers or more.
  • Individuals

The WOZA are presented to an individual woman who displays outstanding performance in one or more of the categories below. A maximum of two nominations may be submitted under the individual categories.

    • Best alternative dispute resolution woman lawyer;
    • Best labour woman lawyer;
    • Best family law woman lawyer;
    • Best mergers and acquisitions woman lawyer;
    • Best woman lawyer in finance/debt relief and restructuring;
    • Best energy, mining and resources woman lawyer;
    • Best in marine and environmental woman lawyer;
    • Best corporate woman lawyer;
    • Best corporate non-practising woman lawyer;
    • Best artificial intelligence, information and communication and technology woman lawyer;
    • Best woman lawyer in land rights;
    • Best human rights activist/social justice activist/pro bono woman lawyer;
    • Best leadership and mentorship woman lawyer;
    • Best woman lawyer, thought leader, innovation and academia;
    • Best woman lawyer in criminal justice;
    • Best woman lawyer in property and construction;
    • Best woman lawyer in competition law; and
    • Best woman lawyer tax/insurance law.
  • Future ambassadors

These awards recognise potential leaders of tomorrow, or academic excellence, trailblazers and changemakers.

    • Best woman student top achiever;
    • Best woman student changemaker;
    • Best woman candidate attorney top achiever; and
    • Best woman candidate attorney changemaker.
  • The state/judiciary/administrative of justice award

A woman lawyer who takes the lead in the mentoring and/or development of women, who has made significant strides in the workplace environment in the employ of government, parliament, state owned enterprises and the various offices in the administration of justice.

    • Best woman lawyer in leadership, mentorship and development of women.
  • Directors Choice Awards
    • Lifetime Achievers Award: This award will be bestowed on a renowned woman lawyer, leader and stalwart who contributed to the struggle and democratisation of South Africa, serving humanity and who is devoted to women empowerment. A woman lawyer who broke barriers and challenged the legal system and the law.
    • Legalpreneur: The LegalPreneur is a new breed of lawyer fusing the rendering of high-quality legal services with an entrepreneurial zest to create a successful business locally, cross-border and globally. She is a lawyer who works outside the box and is simultaneously dedicated to the gender law agenda.
    • International Woman in Law: Recognises a woman lawyer of influence, resourcefulness, and willingness to sacrifice her life for others. Especially in promoting women’s rights, demonstrating resilience and leadership skills in developing, empowering and representing the voice of the women in her community, country and humanity at large.
    • The Male Champion of Change Award: The Male Champion of Change Award is dedicated to a man of vision, committed to the elevation and acceleration of gender diversity within an organisation, business, society, nationally or internationally recognising and advancing the talents and power of women in leadership fostering gender balanced leadership and equality.
  • Pinnacle Award

The WOZA Pinnacle Award: A woman lawyer who displays iconic achievement embracing thought, innovation, leadership, empowerment of other women and contribution to the law. A woman who is distinguishable from the listed individual categories above, because she exemplifies leadership and is regarded as a trailblazer.

How to submit nominations

To make a nomination visit www.woza.today. Nominations will close 15 March, and the WOZA gala dinner will be held on 1 August in Johannesburg.

Kgomotso Ramotsho Cert Journ (Boston) Cert Photography (Vega) is the news reporter at De Rebus.

De Rebus